Posts Tagged ‘detroit’

Pre-order Old now on iTunes —
Stream on Spotify 9/30
In-Stores everywhere 10/8


Directed by: Rollo Jackson
DOP: Sam Goldie
Produced by: Somesuch & Co
Filmed at: Various locations in London, Glasgow and Paris.


OLD 9/30
Bruh Bruhs –

Directed, Edited & Scrawled by RUFFMERCY / / @rffmrcy
DOP – TIM CRAWLEY / @timctv

The 20 Best Danny Brown Giest Verses Since XXX

As Danny Brown fans wait anxiously for the release of his upcoming project, Old, Boombox has compiled a list of Danny’s 20 best verses since XXX which was released through Fool’s Gold Records.

The Detroit rapper has remained consistent in all of his music since the release of his game changing mixtape, XXX. From collaborating with A$AP Rocky, Big K.R.I.T. and rapping over Alchemist production, Danny has always delivered his funny-weird-dope rhymes and leaves fans wanting more.

Let’s take a look back at 20 best guest appearances by Danny Brown since ‘XXX’ put him on everyone’s radar.

20. Trampy – ‘Express Yourself’ Feat. Danny Brown
19. Open Mike Eagle – ‘Cobra Commander’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
18. MHz Legacy – ‘Glowstick’ Feat. Danny Brown (2013)
17. E-40 – ‘All My Ni–as’ Feat. Danny Brown & ScHoolboy Q (2013)
16. The Alchemist – ‘Flight Confirmation’ Feat. Danny Brown & ScHoolboy Q (2012)
15. Don Trip – ‘Gold’ Feat. Starlito & Danny Brown (2012)
14. Purity Ring – ‘Belispeak II’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
13. Childish Gambino – ‘Toxic’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
12. A-Trak – ‘Piss Test’ Feat. Juicy J & Danny Brown (2012)
11. A$AP Rocky – ’1 Train’ Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Joey Bada$$, Yelawolf, Danny Brown, Action Bronson & Big K.R.I.T. (2013)
10. Quelle Chris – ‘Shotgun’ Feat. Danny Brown & Roc Marciano (2011)
09. Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire – ‘The Last Huzzah! (Remix)’ Feat. Despot, Das Racist, Danny Brown & El-P (2011)
08. El-P ‘Oh Hail No’ Feat. Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire & Danny Brown (2012)
07. House Shoes – ‘Sweet’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
06. Evil Nine – The Black Brad Pitt’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
05. Heems – ‘You Have To Ride The Wave’ Feat. Danny Brown & Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire (2012)
04. The Purist – ‘Jealousy’ Feat. Danny Brown (2013)
03. Darq E Freaker – ‘Blueberry (Pills & Cocaine)’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)
02. Paul White – ‘Street Lights’ Feat. Danny Brown (2013)
01. Ab-Soul – ‘Terrorist Threats’ Feat. Danny Brown (2012)

Big Sean lets go the official tracklist for his upcoming album, “Hall Of Fame.”

Awhile back we received a tentative tracklist for Big Sean’s new album Hall Of Fame, now dropping on August 27th. The official tracklist was revealed today, and is slightly different than what we first saw.

Hall Of Fame has 15 tracks, with features from Juicy J, Nicki Minaj, Nas, Kid Cudi, Lil Wayne, Jhene Aiko and a few more. Sadly, there is no collaboration with Eminem on the LP. Check out the tracklist below.

1. Nothing Is Stopping You
2. Fire
3. 10 2 10
4. Toyota Music
5. You Don’t Know
6. Beware (Feat. Lil Wayne & Jhené Aiko)
7. First Chain (Feat. Nas & Kid Cudi)
8. Mona Lisa
9. Freaky
10. Milf (Feat. Nicki Minaj & Juicy J)
11. Sierra Leone / Greedy Ho’s
12. It’s Time (Feat. Jeezy & Payroll)
13. World Ablaze (Feat. James Fauntleroy)
14. Ashley (Feat. Miguel)
15. All Figured Out

14KT - Crown (feat. Black Milk & MED)

14KT might be your favorite producer, but you just don’t know it yet. The Ypsilanti, Mich. native has been on the fringe of more (and well deserved) attention for years, something hip-hop heads the world over will tell you in a heartbeat. “Crown” is the first single off his upcoming album Nickel & Dimed and features underground champs Black Milk and MED.

The two veterans share the crisp instrumental with complementary flows and content, reflecting on the days when creating meant more than getting the next girl or flashy necklace. And it was actually Black Milk who inspired the track’s title, as 14KT had previously named it “Crystal Figurines.” But that changed immediately when he heard Black Milk’s almost dead-eyed authoritative line of “Look around everybody tryna blow and hold the crown.” It’s a poignant comment, especially at a time when buzz leads to flash-in-the-pan rappers coming for the throne.

That lyric also sets the tone for a neck-breaker of a track accentuated by a sharp boom-bap drum loop, wavering synthesizers, and fuzzy guitar lines. The “Crown,” in this case, sits firmly atop the head of 14KT, an apostle of J Dilla’s school of beats. It’s a banger, sure, but it’s also meticulously layered, composed, and textured much like the remainder of Nickel & Dimed.

The album is 14KT’s fourth full-length and finds him again combining his love for instrumentals and guest-featured cuts. The first half, Nickel, is purely beat-driven, aside from one track wherein 14KT himself delivers the rhymes. On Dimed, the focus shifts to his guests, who also include Blu, JMSN, and Kokane.

Nickel & Dimed drops Aug. 27 on Mello Music Group.




New Song By Big Sean - Fire

Checkout new song by Big Sean, Single to his Sophomore album “Hall of Fame”

new jon connor freestyle

Jon Connor releases this freestyle over DMX’s “Where My Dawgs At” for his fans as a sample to go support his new album “Unconscious State” which is currently available on iTunes. Keep up with Jon Connor on Twitter @JonConnorMusic

Hip Hop savior Jon Connor leaks this new song featuring Paid Dues 2013 alumni Freddie Gibbz off his new album “Unconscious State” set to release July 2,2013. We had the opportunity to meet Jon Connor at SXSW 2012 and he actually gave us a cosign to get on Paid Dues. After listening to his last 2 mixtapes and following this mans movement we became big supporters of him and his music. For more info you can follow him at @JonConnorMusic